The human Dilemma and Intellectual Masturbation

An intimidating puzzle! The Human Dilemma

Why the dilemma? Why the human dilemma? What is the dilemma in question? And of all the terms why intellectual masturbation? What has the human dilemma got to do with intellectual masturbation?

All these questions, put together, present an even bigger dilemma viz. how to explain; I hope Carl Jung will forgive me for stealing the title of his book; The Dark Night of the Soul.

No application requesting either my explicit or implicit acceptance was tabled before I was hauled into this world. There is no way of finding out, whether I was the product of an emotional cataclysm. I am, my mind hopes, certainly, not the unfortunate result of an act, which I wish not to put in words. By whatever the definition it may go, what transpired at that ( fateful ) moment resulted in bringing me into this world and it was not of my own volition.

Philosophical Digression or Intellectual Masturbation

Philosophies may have a different opinion to this but, at the moment, I am not concerned with what they may or may not have to say to me, for I am concerned only with my immediate circumstances.

When the question of survival is posed and since responsibilities cannot be shirked off  (for conscientiousness, obviously, cannot be ignored) , it is not a practical solution to take shelter behind philosophical brooding and trying to find an illusory consolation in inexplicable patterns of thought.

When the night is past, one has to face the reality of the day. Admittedly, philosophy cannot be fully ruled out in situations that test the endurance of the person. It is, certainly, not my intention to discredit philosophical contemplation or philosophy as such.

Parenting is not economics defined by supply and demand

Parenting is, by its own right, an extremely complicated science and common sense seems , unfortunately, to be a chronically absent ingredient of the human nature. Emotional explosiveness appears to be an inborn quality that seems to cripple the intellect. When the factor of money is added to this whole perplexing complexity, one has a catastrophic equation of life.

Alcohol: Ah! the honourable devil

Alcohol is an honourable drink and, indeed, it makes honourable people more honourable. It painted my evenings and nights in a variety of colours ranging from an array of shades of black to green, blue green etc. However, I should not leave out the sensation of pain in various parts of the body and , of course, the eyes! The latter underwent a mysterious and terrible metamorphosis. They just grew in dimension and looked like two miniature blue green tomatoes with large black spots on them. The other spots of paint on the various parts of the body had either a masculine or a feminine quality to them, as well, depending on who painted them.

My tribulations do not end there.

Nature, in her unfathomable mercy, gave me a brown skin and I am happy that I do not look like a big chunk of cheese. However, it has been an inexplicable puzzle for me to solve, as to, what my skin colour has to do with my English. It is, indeed, an amusing time for me trying to deduce the functioning of the processes of the human mind.

My thoughts running haywire

The intellect, I assume, seems to be guided to a decision by the organs of vision, which, in turn, seem to be led by the mind. Since I was born in a country, which is, still, not considered by many, as an English speaking one, my English may not be called, English. It is something else and it even gets the colour of my skin. I haven’t got the “native accent” of the country where I was born, but then, that is immaterial. Articulate speech is, apparently, not worth a consideration, It is the colour of my skin and the country where I was born, that are important. I am being indirectly told. Oh! How I love that humour!

Education and Society

The education of today cannot be called by that term, at all. Training in skills is what is offered today. Education is far more than that and it is a crying shame that educational institutions are nothing more than profit greedy business centres.

Education has failed in its most important task of character building. We have highly qualified individuals who are miserably unqualified to raise a family.Our educational institutions have failed to create a healthy society, a society where human values percolate right down to the grass roots.

It is in the family, where a nation is built and not in factories and offices. Families can inculcate their offsprings with values, only if each of the parent has been provided with the right education. A sheet of paper carrying a decorative title is no guarantee to being in possession of an educated inner being that can foster a family consisting of educated, mentally and intellectually healthy individuals who can go on to build a better nation.

Knowledge of skills is important to make one a bread winner. Education is the process of building a compassionate and understanding human being who becomes endowed with respectable and commendable human values. A walking biped with a large storage of philological knowledge is of no practical use to the human society, because such a being cannot be a progenitor of a human world.

 

© The Rebel 05.11.2014

6 thoughts on “The human Dilemma and Intellectual Masturbation

  1. Your thoughts, observations and migrant experiences resonate strongly with me. I have written a poem, called Migrant Skin, and submitted it to various online journals and magazines, but it is constantly rejected.
    I think that you will appreciate it, and I will post it this week or next and dedicate it to you.

    As for education and parenting – spot on. Education and the system that keeps it from the people who need it the most has absolutely failed.
    Parents, and people in general, are in short supply of common sense, and yet it is arguably the most important quality/trait to possess if we desire to be intuitive beings vs robots.

    Bianca.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What an oustatnding post … ⭐

    ►There is no way of finding out, whether I was the product of an emotional cataclysm. I am, my mind hopes, certainly, not the unfortunate result of an act, which I wish not to put in words

    I love your words!… I had always had existential doubts about how the previous effect would have led to ME … Whence the consequence. I truly hope I was daughter of good sex!… 🙂 As I was the first oneof three I bet I was!.

    ►Philosophies may have a different opinion to this but, at the moment, I am not concerned with what they may or may not have to say to me, for I am concerned only with my immediate circumstances.

    That is a huge statement… Maybe Sartre would second you though, now that I see it closer.

    ►A walking biped with a large storage of philological knowledge is of no practical use to the human society, because such a being cannot be a progenitor of a human world”.

    Finally I wanted to point out a little disgresion regarding this… For Plato (The Republic) you’d be a Philosopher Queen… He talked about how the high intellect of PhiloMans and the common interests of the Polis might be related!. There is still hope then!…

    All the best Rebel!… Thanks for sharing!, Aquileana 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you, Bianca. I am sure, I can appreciate. I shall wait for you to post that and thank you for dedicating it to me. I would say dedicate it to all those human beings who had the misfortune of having their childhood crushed. Thankfully, I had and still have the strength to stand my ground.

    Like

  4. @Aquilena
    Thank you for. One of the main differences in the philosophies of the east and the west is shown by the key term “predestination”. So your question “whence” does stand out. Lending sex the qualification of good or bad is a complex thing. I tend to use the term “union”. The act can get various levels of terminology: carnal, spiritual, functional and lust. Indeed, I am unaware of any other qualification that can be applied to it. Of what we are the product is, I shall venture to say, a query that will remain unanswered or unanswerable. What started out as an act of peaceful conjugation, might have ended as an explosion of emotions where control over the self was lost. I shall leave it there.

    Sartre remains a dilemma to me. In fact, I was more comfortable with Albert Camus, and saying that I must say that Camus’s book L’Etranger did influence my thinking a lot.

    Plato: May I turn that term into “Poet King” ? :p Well, unfortunately, Plato was biased against poets and poetry. Plato went a bit to the extreme, in my personal opinion; for I write poetry; in putting up his theory of Mimesis, where he says the arts deal but with illusion. In his opinion, art is twice removed fro reality, as the former deals with the imitation of an imitation 😦
    Yet, he was a poet himself. His thoughts were poetic. However, I have lost touch with Plato and Aristoteles (Ars Poetica).

    Lastly, I do admit, hope there is! and in poetry there is always hope.

    Holding her as I would a slender stem of jasmine in my arms,
    I shall partake of the milky wine that flows from the goblet of the skies
    Do I really care for the vagaries of this futile world full of follies
    For I shall sink in stupor upon her alabaster breast to dream
    And erotic stars of my intoxicated realm will gush forth in flood
    As poems that will carry away the ugly face of the human world

    Regards
    Suren

    Like

Please leave a Reply

